You are in: Home > Accident claims

Oklahoma Motorcycle Accident Laws – Important Info for Drivers

31st March 2010
By Penelope Stone in Accident claims
RSS Legal RSS    Views: N/A

When the temperatures rise and the sun comes out, many people take to the streets on motorcycles. Before you begin your spring, you may want to brush up on your motorcycle laws for Oklahoma. They are slightly different than other states but still are in place to protect cyclists from danger and injury.

Insurance Liabilities

Oklahoma is not a no fault state. This means that any motorized vehicle that occupies public roadways must meet certain requirements before being allowed on those roadways. Insurance is one of those requirements and most states have minimums that must be kept. For instance you cannot obtain insurance for any vehicle unless the policy offers at least $25,000 for single injury, $50,000 for two or more injured parties and $25,000 for property damage.

Helmet, Eye Protection and Mirrors

Before being able to ride your motorcycle on public roadways you must make sure you have the required equipment. A safety helmet must be worn by anyone under the age of 18 but is not required by adults over 18. All driver and riders must wear eye protection unless the motorcycle is equipped with a windscreen. Oklahoma law also states that you must have two mirrors attached to the motorcycle.

Headlight Use, Muffler and Sound Levels

It is required by Oklahoma law that motorcycles use a modulating headlight during the daytime hours. Turn signals are also required on all models of 2005 and above. Your motorcycle must be equipped with a muffler or noise suppressant that is in good working order and the sound level of any modified muffler should not exceed the sound that is emitted by the original muffler the bike was purchased with.

Riding Two Abreast and Passing

There are no laws that mandate riding two abreast on public roadways. This means that two motorcycles can ride side by side in the same lane. There are no laws stating that a motorcycle must move out of a lane of the vehicle they are passing either. Some states dictate that the motorcycle must leave the lane the vehicle they are passing in occupying before passing.

Find a Corpus Christi lawyer, spinal cord injury, or wrongful death professional.
This article is free for republishing
Bookmark and Share

Ask a Question about this Article

powered by Yedda