You are in: Home > Accident claims

Arkansas Motorcycle Accident Laws – Important Info for Drivers

31st March 2010
By Penelope Stone in Accident claims
RSS Legal RSS    Views: N/A

One of the most terrifying times In someone’s life is being in a motorcycle accident. Since motorcycle accidents result in death 80% of the time, Arkansas has place some laws governing the use of motorcycles on public roadways. They make very little to no difference in their accident laws regarding motorcycles and automobiles.

Safety Laws for Motorcycles

Arkansas requires that anyone under the age of 21 must wear a safety helmet as well as all riders and operators must wear eye protection. The use of headlights during the daytime hours is also required as well as a passenger seat and foot rest for any motorcycle carrying a passenger. No one under the age of 8 is permitted to ride or operate a motorcycle unless in an off road setting where the age limit is 12 and supervision is required. Only one mirror is required by law and the minimum insurance requirements are as follows:

• $25,000 for single injury accident
• $50,000 for an accident where two or more injuries occur
• $15,000 for property damage

What to Expect After an Accident

According to Arkansas laws, you can expect to recover property damage or vehicle damage from an accident that does not involve bodily injury. The amount of damages you will recover from this type of accident is determined by the value of your vehicle immediately before the accident and immediately after plus a reasonable amount that is equal to the loss of use of your vehicle.

In the event there are injuries involved with the accident, you can recover for medical damages sustained in the accident. These damages may include past and future medical and prescription bills, loss of income or wages, pain, suffering and mental anguish. Some of these damages may require legal action to recover so it is in your best interest to seek legal counsel as soon as possible after an accident. In case of injury so significant that the injured cannot speak for themselves, a loved one should seek counsel on their behalf until which time they are able to speak and make decisions on their own.

Find a Louisiana injury attorney, premises liability, or product liability professional.
This article is free for republishing
Bookmark and Share

Ask a Question about this Article

powered by Yedda